Four Freedoms

2019 Four Freedoms Gala

Stonewall recently celebrated our 16th Annual Four Freedoms Awards Dinner on May 15, 2019 at the Tsakolpolous Galleria in downtown Sacramento!

We gave awards to four amazing LGBTQ community members and commemorated the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots. The Four Freedoms Gala is Sacramento Stonewall’s largest fundraiser of the year.

History of “Four Freedoms”

Every year, the Sacramento Stonewall Democratic Club holds a gala where we recognize local leaders who embody the goals of the club and of the Democratic Party – freedom from fear and want, freedom of expression, and freedom of worship. The idea comes from Franklin Roosevelt’s Annual Address to Congress in 1941. For more information on President’s Roosevelt’s speech, please follow this link! 

Freedom From Fear

2019     Ebony Ava Harper

2018    Senator Cathleen Galgiani

2017     Evan Minton

2016     David Heitstuman

2015      Assemblymember Susan Eggman

2014      Ben Hudson

2013       Dr. Claire Pomeroy, Vice-Chancellor and Dean, UC Davis Health System

2012       Assemblymember Roger Dickinson

2011       Pam Whitely

2010       Dr Jennifer Choy, DO

2009       Tina Reynolds of Equality Action Now

2008       The Satender Justice Coalition

2007       Mayor Heather Fargo

2006       Yvonne Neis

2005       The Honorable Gary Miller

2004       The Court of the Great Northwest Imperial Empire (CGNIE)

Freedom of Speech and Expression

2019     Assemblymember Evan Low

2018      Genevieve Shiroma

2017      Bonnie Osborn

2016      Michael Mendez

2015      Assemblymember Tom Ammiano

2014       Larry Levine

2013       West Sacramento Mayor Christopher Cabaldon

2012       Senate Majority Leader Ellen Corbett

2011       Sacramento Valley Veterans

2010       Fred Palmer, Publisher Outword

2009       City Council Member Ray Tretheway

2008       Alice Huffman, NAACP

2007       Jay Hansen

2006       Honorable Willie Brown

2005       Marghe Covino

2004       Gail Lang

Freedom of Worship

2019      Jeff Freitas

2018     Eric Bauman

2017      Basim Elkarra

2016      Trinity Episcopal Cathedral

2015      Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer

2014       Mary Helen Doherty

2013       Rev. Faith Whitmore, District Director for Congressman Ami Bera

2012       The Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence

2011       Rabbi Mona Alfi, Congregation B’Nai Israel

2010       David Schenirer, McClatchy High School Student & Member Congregation B’Nai Israel

2009       Rev. Dr Brian Baker, Trinity Cathedral

2008       Rev. Lindi Ramsden, Unitarian Universalist Society

2007       Rev. Robyn Hartwig, Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer

2006       Rev. Dr. David Thompson, Westminster Presbyterian Church

2005       Rev. Charles Cooper, Metropolitan Community Church

2004       Rev. Don Fado, St Mark’s United Methodist Church

Freedom from Want

2019     Mandy Lee

2018     Carrie Holmes

2017     Rachel Iskow

2016      SEIU local 1000 Lavender Committee

2015      Senate pro Tem Emeritus Darrell Steinberg

2014       Rosanna Herber

2013       Sacramento County Supervisor Phil Serna

2012       Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD)

2011       Assemblymember Richard Pan, MD

2010       Betty Yee, Chair, State Board of Equalization

2009       Mike Whiteside

2008       Ralph Seibert, student youth counselor

2007       State Controller John Chiang

2006       County Supervisor Illa Collin

2005       Paul Curtis

2004       Ellen Pontac and Shelly Bailes

President’s Award

2019     (no award)

2018     Colonel Pat Thompson

2017      Honorable Carole Migden

2016      Speaker Emeritus of the Assembly Toni Atkins

2015       Denny Mangers

2014       Senator Mark Leno

2013       Sacramento City  Councilmember Steve Hansen

2012*      Dr. Darrick Lawson (Founder’s Award)

2012       Ft. Worth, TX City Councilmember Joel Burns

2011       (no special award)

2010       Speaker John Perez

2009       Attorney General Jerry Brown

2008       Laurie McBride

2007       (no award)

2006       (no award)

2005       Chrissy Gephardt (Grand Freedom Award)

2004       Judy Shepherd (Grand Freedom Award)