2020-2021 Board of Directors

Kim Angulo

Kim Angulo (she/her/hers) is serving as President. She has served twice as Vice President. She previously served as Membership Chair, Communications Chair and on the Stonewall PAC. During her first year as Vice President she founded the Advocacy Committee which gets Stonewall members actively engaged in LGBTQ advocacy. Kim grew up in the Sacramento area, graduated from UC Santa Cruz with a BA in Feminist Studies, and has a law degree from UC Davis Law.  She worked in the Capitol for three years as an Assembly Fellow and then as a Legislative Aide before going to law school. Kim is currently working at the San Joaquin County Public Defender’s Office as a Deputy Public Defender.

Matthew Nielsen

Matthew Nielsen (he/him/his) is serving as Vice-President. He previously served his first term as Secretary/Treasurer for Sacramento Stonewall, after spending the prior two years as PAC Chair. He has previously served in positions with the College Democrats of Wisconsin, the East Bay Young Democrats, and was one of the cofounders of the Oakland LGBT Roundtable. Matthew grew up in nearby Vacaville, and received his Bachelor’s Degree in Physics from Ripon College and his Master of Science Degree from Colorado State University in Atmospheric Science. He currently serves as the Government and Regulatory Affairs lead at Risk Management Solutions, Inc, a catastrophe risk solutions provider based in Newark, CA. Through his work, he connects with regulators and legislators across the U.S. to discuss issues related to catastrophe preparedness, insurance coverage and adequacy, and climate change. He is an avid traveler, and hopes to someday visit every single county in the United States!

Emilio Perez

Emilio Perez (he/him/his) is serving his second term as Chair of the Political Action Committee (PAC Chair). He has lived in the Sacramento area since 2014, when relocated to the area to finish his undergraduate studies at UC Davis.  Since graduating with a degree in Political Science in 2016 Emilio has worked as a legislative staffer to elected members of the California State Assembly. Through his work he has had an opportunity to work on a range of public policy issues including expanding collective bargaining rights for state workers, environmental policy, and civic engagement issues. In his free time Emilio enjoys staying active, spending time outdoors, and indulging in his love for food.

Lanz Nalagan

Lanz Nalagan (he/him/his) is honored to serve the LGBTQ+ community in his capacity as Annual and Corporate Giving Director for the Center. Over the years, he grew passionate about campaign finance and philanthropy in the political and non-profit sectors, and he is grateful that his current work reflects that. After immigrating from the Philippines, Lanz grew up in the East Bay area and attended school in the beautiful Central Coast- earning a B.A in Political Science from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. He also lived in Washington, D.C before settling down in Sacramento, CA.

He’s a long-time board member of  the Stonewall Democratic Club and its newly created Stonewall Foundation of Greater Sacramento. Lanz is a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, and hopes to earn his CFRE- Certified Fundraising Executive- in the near future, to continue funding causes he’s passionate about. In his free time, he enjoys the outdoors, tennis, skiing, spa days, reading (especially self-help books!), watching anything from Legally Blonde and West Wing to Star Trek and Ocean’s 11 and listening to anything from Broadway showtunes and punk rock to Motown and Lady Gaga.

Jordan Hosein-Hedmann

Jordan Hosein-Hedmann (he/him/his) is a Trinidadian- Jamaican who was born in Miami, FL. Jordan is passionate about QPOC issues and is focused on creating more inclusive spaces for queer people of color. He enjoys traveling, learning, and hanging out with his loved ones. Jordan looks forward to serving the community by producing events that appeal to the diverse community of Sacramento.

Kiara Harpster

Kiara Harpster (she/her/hers) is serving her second term as Membership Chair.

Caroline Anaya

Caroline Anaya (she/her/hers) is serving her first term as Secretary/Treasurer.

2018-2019 Strategic Plan